That Didn't Take Long

rainerann

Star
That position is fine when decided by law. Not by a corporation.

A law not a corporation decided that.

Fine. But Wally World IS NOT raising my children.
Maybe not, but as a business owner, I would like the right to abstain from selling weapons to people under 21 for the sake of my own conscious and as a way of responding to the present situation regarding school shootings. I would like a way to feel like I am part of the solution considering the fact that the recent shooter was 18-years-old and if the legal age to own a gun had been 21, this might have prevented a young person from possessing a gun.

This boy decided to buy the gun legally according to reports. Therefore, it is reasonable to assume that he might not have been willing or able to try to buy one illegally and this would have prevented this event from taking place.

Apparently, Florida is actively considering changing the legal age to 21 as state law. I think this would be a positive change to make.

As a result, a business owner should have to right to not sell a gun to someone under 21 as an act of conscious. As a corporation that is not able to change the law by making a change to store policy, this would obviously be the extent that they could apply this restriction, and the individual is able to buy a gun from a different location according to present language of the law.

The only reason that I think that a case could be made against Dicks for refusing to sell a gun to an individual under 21 is if they were guilty of harassing the individual or hindering his ability to purchase a gun from a different location. Otherwise, I see no reason why they should be forced to sell a gun to someone under the age of 21 considering the nature of the discussion regarding the item that is being sold, which is a gun. Not a bedspread.

elsbet

Superstar