Insanity or Demonic Possession?

Red Sky at Morning

Superstar
Someone I know well has a good many years invested in psychological training and might interpret all mental health issues according to DSM-5.

The problem is that this taxonomic view of mental health leaves out the spiritual component. When the question “why” is asked of the actions of certain individuals, there is simply no box for “demonic possession”.

Perhaps their should be?

DUSTY

Established
My degree is in psychology (I don't have a practice, just the degree). I have the DSM IV. Even though the DSM V is 'more up to date', I think it's lacking. That being said, psychology as a whole is myopic when it comes to the spiritual. It accepts that the spiritual beliefs shape a thought process, but it doesn't account for a spirit world or other dimensions affecting the mind. Demonic possession is real, but so are mental illness' that can mimic (to some degree) possession. I don't think psychology alone could diagnose demonic possession. It would have to be a team of psychologist, psychiatrists, and spiritual leadership/gifted ... and an open mind by the medical community on the subject ... which I don't think will happen.

Dalit

Star
Someone I know well has a good many years invested in psychological training and might interpret all mental health issues according to DSM-5.

The problem is that this taxonomic view of mental health leaves out the spiritual component. When the question “why” is asked of the actions of certain individuals, there is simply no box for “demonic possession”.

Perhaps their should be?