How Lesbian, Feminist, Atheist Professor Rosaria Butterfield Found Christ

Red Sky at Morning

Superstar
Butterfield says that she

“came to Christ in 1999. I broke up with my lesbian partner because I was convicted of my sin, but my heart was a mess. I never called my partner my wife because I had rejected all things “heteronormative.” I —and others of my generation—dismissed the idea that we were “born this way.” Instead, I believed that my lesbian sexuality was a cleaner and more moral choice.”

However, prior to her conversion Butterfield had a low view of Christians and intensely disliked what Jesus stood for,

“As a leftist lesbian professor, I despised Christians… The word Jesus stuck in my throat like an elephant tusk; no matter how hard I choked, I couldn’t hack it out. Those who professed the name commanded my pity and wrath. As a university professor, I tired of students who seemed to believe that “knowing Jesus” meant knowing little else. Christians in particular were bad readers, always seizing opportunities to insert a Bible verse into a conversation with the same point as a punctuation mark: to end it rather than deepen it. Stupid. Pointless. Menacing. That’s what I thought of Christians and their god Jesus.”

While she was an atheist, Butterfield remembers receiving a great deal of hate and fan mail (5). She discovered one letter that she couldn’t quite classify, and it was this letter that started her on her journey to Jesus and the Christian faith. She says that it was “from the pastor of the Syracuse Reformed Presbyterian Church. It was a kind and inquiring letter.”